Close this search box.

< back to speakers gallery

Ian Yates

Interim Inspector General of Aged Care, Australian Government

Ian Yates is the Interim Inspector General of Aged Care in the Australian Government. He commenced this position on 30 January 2023. Prior to this Ian was Chief Executive of Council on the Ageing (COTA) Australia, the national peak consumer body for older Australians, from October 2002 to December 2022, after being Chief Executive of COTA SA since 1989. He was also Chair of the Ageing and Aged Care Council of Elders, a member of the National Aged Care Advisory Council and the Aged Care Quality and Safety Advisory Council. and a member of the Aged Care Financing Authority.

Ian also represented older Australians on other key federal government and sector advisory bodies including the ATO Superannuation Industry Stewardship Group; the ASIC Consumer Advisory Panel; the Advisory Board of the Centre of Excellence in Population Ageing Research (CEPAR); and was a Director of Livable Housing Australia and the Aged Rights Advocacy Service.  He remains the Chair of the Management Committee of the Australasian Journal on Ageing

Ian held senior governance positions in hospital and essential services in South Australia throughout the 2000’s and served on the Flinders University Council for 20 years including seven years as Deputy Chancellor. Ian is Emeritus Deputy Chancellor of Flinders University and holds an Honorary Doctorate from the University. He was awarded Membership in the Order of Australia (AM) in June 2005.

who else is speaking?

Alan Herrman

Partner - Integrated Infrastructure, Real Estate Advisory Services, PwC

Richard Ainley

Partner - Integrated Infrastructure, Real Estate Advisory Services, PwC

Aaron Hill

Managing Director Economic Insights, Accenture

Judy Martin

Executive Lead – International / SAGE Study Tours & Anchor Specialist Advisor, Anchor Excellence

Deidre McGill

Executive General Manager – At Home Support, Bolton Clarke

Jane Monk

Chief Executive Officer, Gannon Lifestyle Communities

Beverly Smith

Executive General Manager – Self Managed Division, myHomecare Group

Charles Kekovich

National Policy and Stakeholder Manager – Retirement Living, Property Council of Australia

Tim Wheeler

National Policy Manager, Property Council of Australia

Leida Pirts

National Policy Manager - Retirement Living, Property Council of Australia

Donna Rayner

Principal, Russell Kennedy Lawyers & Board Member, Women’s Property Initiatives

Rhonda Andrews

Founder, Principal Senior Psychologist & Managing Director, Barrington Centre

Ian Yates

Interim Inspector General of Aged Care, Australian Government

Mike Zorbas

Chief Executive Officer, Property Council of Australia

M-L MacDonald

Immediate Past President, Retirement Living Council & CEO, Freemasons WA

Kate Melrose

General Manager Project Sales, Ingenia Communities

Craig Bennett

President, Retirement Village Residents Association Inc. NSW

Graham Wilkinson

Owner & Director, Generus Living Group & President of the NZ Retirement Village Association

Emily Gilfillan

Principal, Seniors Living + Communities Lead, Billard Leece Partnership

Judy Mayfield

President, Association of Residents of QLD Retirement Villages

Tony Randello

Chief Executive Officer, Aveo Group & President, Retirement Living Council

Kim Teudt

Vice-President, Retirement Living Council Executive General Manager - Retirement Living, Bolton Clarke Retirement Living Life Member

Daniel Gannon

Executive Director, Retirement Living, Retirement Living Council, Property Council of Australia